Hour of Code!

santa_game

This week is the beginning of the International Week of Computer Science, when tens of millions of students from over 180 countries participate in “Hour of Code”. This is a great activity to introduce students to computer science in a fun, easy and accessible way. Here are some resources to introduce coding in your classroom:

Hour of Code website

Khan Academy Introduction to Hour of Code – video and resources

Make a Flappy Game – a ‘drag and drop’ method to create your own version of the popular flappy bird game.

Code with Anna and Elsa from Frozen

hour_of_code

This week we have about 30 students from Year 7 to 9 attending school, while the rest participate in the end of year “Great Hawkesdale Bike Ride”. They enjoyed creating their own Flappy Bird and Angry Bird Games and then constructing Christmas scenes in Minecraft. Which games did you create, which was your favourite and why?

13 thoughts on “Hour of Code!

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:02 am
    Permalink

    I created a flappy bird game and my favourite was the flappy bird game because it was simple and easy to do.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:02 am
    Permalink

    The game I liked best was Flappy bird because it was the only game I Created but I am still working on a game called Cat Vs Dog On play Lab.But i aslo like Cat Vs Dog But its not finished

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:02 am
    Permalink

    my favourite game was flappy birds because I learnt how to make a game which I enjoy playing. It was fun because I was trying to get a massive high score.I created a flappy bird game and a frozen game i did not like the frozen game as much as the flappy bird game.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:05 am
    Permalink

    I made games in Angry Birds,Frozen and Flappy Bird.I only created flappy birds because the other ones were too hard.It was very interesting to learn how to make a game.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:08 am
    Permalink

    I made the flappy bird and angry birds game. My favourite was the angry bird one because the scene and characters change throughout the learning and it’s a bit more challenging.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:08 am
    Permalink

    I made a flappy bird and an angry bird game. My favourite was the angry bird game because it changed through out the game through every stage. It was challenging and fun

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:09 am
    Permalink

    I created snowflakes in the Frozne game, which was quite fun.
    I like experimenting with the Flappy Bird and the Angry Bird codes.
    I like the idea of putting codes toget quite easily and customising the game to suit us. I would like to do more of this stuff in our daily classes

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:10 am
    Permalink

    I made a flappy birds game and an angry birds game. The flappy birds game was quite fun but I liked the the angry birds game better. i like how things change around during the angry birds game. it was good to learn and it really tests your brain.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:12 am
    Permalink

    i learnt to make a flappy bird game
    it was fun to play

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:14 am
    Permalink

    I liked flappy bird because it is the only one I finished it also showed me how to make games.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:19 am
    Permalink

    I made a replica of flappy birds and i like the santa version because it is the right time of year

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:22 am
    Permalink

    I have learned how to make a Flappy Birds and Frozen game. The best one was Flappy Birds because it’s a fun game to learn. The directions were hard at first, but it got easier and more fun.

  • December 9, 2014 at 10:24 am
    Permalink

    ive learnt how to make flappy birds and frozen game.the best one was flappy birds becuase it was a fun game to learnt. it was a little hard to follow what to do but as you went along it got better i would love to do this an other day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *